State Essay Contest 2021

The LFL State Federation Essay Contest is for students in Grades 6 through 12. Any Lutheran student in a Lutheran school or church is eligible. Lutheran students may also enter through a home school or congregation (e.g. confirmation class, youth group) when validated by a pastor or teacher.

For 2021, students will write a life-affirming essay based on the theme: God Chose You based on John 15:16: “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit.”

For specific state guidelines and rubrics contact the State Federation President or Regional Director for your state found on this page. If you do not see your state, or you discover your state is not running the contest this year, please contact Rev. Jeffrey Duncan (, LFL Mission & Ministry Director for information on how to enter the non-federation contest that covers the rest of the country.

Thank you for your participation!
The Council of Federation Presidents

State Federations

LFL of Illinois
Rev. David M. Bottorff
Bourbonnais, Illinois

LFL of Indiana
Katie Willman
Marion, Indiana

LFL of Iowa
Rev. Richard Salcido
Ida Grove, Iowa

LFL of Kansas
Jeanne Mackay
PO Box 19302
Lenexa, KS 66285-9302
Cell 913.991.3350
Find LFL of Kansas on Facebook!

LFL of Michigan
Rev. Paul Clark
PO Box 317
Fowler, MI 48835-0317

LFL of Missouri
Diane Albers
9718 Lenor Drive
St. Louis, MO 63123-4010

LFL of Montana
Berniece Stulc
409 Bridger View Dr.
Belgrade, MT 59714-3810
406.388.6746 (H)
406.581.3195 (C)

LFL of Nebraska
Bob Saeger
PO Box 183
Waco, NE 68460-0183

LFL of North Dakota
Rev. Dennis Norby
3467 109th Ave SE
Valley City, ND 58072-9449

LFL of South Dakota
Kimberlea Lessman

LFL of Wisconsin
Rev. Doug Reinders
Zion Lutheran Church
E9016 Marsha Road
Fremont, WI 54940-8828

Regional Directors

Rev. Jeff Duncan
Mission and Ministry Director

LFL in Minnesota
Virginia J. Flo
Regional Director of Minnesota and National Conference Director

LFL in Texas
Barbara Lane Geistfeld, DVM
Regional Director of Texas
830.935.3415 (H)
830.388.8640 (C)